Seed Certification

SASA is the Certifying Authority for seed produced in Scotland. Prior to certification, seed of most crop species must be officially tested to ensure that certain minimum standards are met. In the UK these standards are defined in Seeds Regulations. In Scotland there are five sets of Seeds Regulations covering Cereal, Fodder, Oil & Fibre, Vegetable and Beet seeds. These regulations define both the minimum standards and Higher Voluntary Standards that apply in the UK.  Seed testing requirements are dependant on crop and category and are defined in Schedule 4 of each of five sets of Scottish Regulations. Most seed must meet standards for species purity, germination and other seed content.  Some may also have moisture or disease standards. The Tetrazolium test can only be used as an alternative to the full germination test on cereals seed.  For more information and restrictions on the application of Tetrazolium tests for Cereal Certification purposes follow the like below.

Further information is provided in the OSTS Price List for Certification Tests.

The OSTS undertakes some of the official testing of seed intended for certification and also supervises all official tests made in licensed seed testing stations. In this way, the high quality of Scottish certified seed is maintained.

Sampling seed for certification purposes must be done by either a Licensed sampler or an Official sampler following approved sampling procedures.

OSTS Price List for Certification Tests
Tetrazolium testing procedure for certificcation of cereals

Seed Sample Submission
Further information on Seed Certification requirements

Please remember that most kinds of agricultural seeds cannot be sold unless they have been officially certified.