Scottish Government Division

The Scottish Agricultural Science Agency was merged into the Scottish Government in April 2008 and is now a Division of the Scottish Government Agriculture and Rural Economy Directorate. The name of the Division, Science and Advice for Scottish Agriculture (SASA), reflects its continuing purpose in providing expert scientific and technical advice, information and services on agricultural and horticultural crops and aspects of the environment within the Scottish Government and to other customers. SASA also continues to represent Scottish and, where appropriate, UK interests in national and international forums which call for scientific and technical input.

The Agriculture and Rural Economy Directorate is also responsible for administering a range of direct payment schemes to Scottish rural beneficiaries - see the Scottish Government website for more information on grants, subsidies and services. The EU European Agricultural Guarantee Fund (EAGF) and the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD) wholly or partly fund all the scheme payments to farmers, crofters, land managers and the wider rural community.

Previous - Relocation to Gogarbank